How to Restore or Reinstall a Template

The robust Volusion platform enables advanced users to customize the look and feel of your store through edits to the template HTML and CSS files. Sometimes, however, you may make changes to your template that may cause the functionality of your template to break, or otherwise become damaged.

If you made a backup of your template before editing (as is strongly recommended!) you can restore your template to the previous version. If you haven't made backups of your template files, you must either request a costly site restore with a support ticket, or else reinstall your store's original template.

Reinstalling your store's original template will take the HTML and CSS file code back to the original/default information that was available when you first browsed, selected and installed the template.

How to Restore Your Template to a Backup

Note that you must have archived your template to have the ability to restore the backup.

  1. Go to Design > Template.
  2. Find the backed-up template to reinstall in your Saved Templates.
  3. Click Activate in that template's Action column.
  4. The template will be loaded, replacing your current template.

How to Reinstall a Template

  1. Go to Design > Template.
  2. Check your active template in the Active Templates tab.* 
  3. In your Template Gallery, search for the name of the template to reinstall.
  4. Click Get It on the template.
  5. Read the warning in the pop-up window and click I understand, reinstall anyway to overwrite the current version of the template.

*Note that you can reinstall any template that you have installed once already, whether or not it is the currently active template on your store.

If you have made changes to the broken template that you would like to retrieve, be sure to duplicate or back up the template before reinstalling or you will lose all of the changes (successful and unsuccessful) that you made.

After you have followed the steps above, the reinstalled template will default back to the original HTML and CSS code, and will permanently overwrite any changes you may have made to the template. This is helpful for merchants who have made irrevocable changes to the code that either corrupts the desired display of the store or breaks the functionality of the store. To avoid having to reinstall templates and return to "square one" in the future, be sure to archive your template every time you make changes.

Watch the Design video series