How to Add Facebook Like and Share Buttons to a Product

It's almost impossible to find a web page that isn't integrated with Facebook Like and Share features - and with good reason. Leveraging the accessibility and popularity of Facebook is a great way to spread the word about your products. If you don't already have these buttons on your storefront, this article will walk you through the process of adding them.

The Like button lets your customers immediately post a link (with an image and descriptive text) and their own comments to their Facebook page.

The Share button is similar, except they can send the link to Facebook friends, to the group wall of any Facebook group of which they are a member, or as an email to any email address to a smaller group of people.

To Enable the Facebook Like Button

You can add Like and Share buttons to your product pages by following these steps:

  1. Log in to your Admin Area and go to Inventory > Products.
  2. Click the three-dot actions menu icon and select All Products Settings.
  3. Select Enable Facebook Like Button and Enable Facebook Send Button.
  4. Click Save.

And that's it! The Facebook Like and Share buttons will now appear below the product image on product pages.

Note that you can enable the Like button by itself, but the Share button will not appear by itself if the Like button isn't enabled.

What the Customer Sees

When a customer clicks the Like button, a window displays with a field to enter comments.

When a customer clicks the Share button, a pop-up displays with a field to enter comments, and the customer can choose whether they want the post to appear on their own timeline or a friend's.

After a customer has liked or shared a product with their comments, the post appears on their Facebook "wall" and timeline for their friends to view. The post also contains a clickable product name that links to the product page.

A customer can only click on the Like button once. After they click it, they'll see an icon showing how many Facebook users have liked this product. However, they can use the Share button multiple times.

Notes

For more information, visit Facebook's Help Center.

If a customer doesn't have a Facebook account or aren't logged in to it, a pop-up asking them to log in or register for an account is displayed when they click the Like or Share button.

Watch the Social Media video series